Elm Springs United Methodist Church (ESUMC) was established in 1832, eight years before our town was officially named. Church members first met in each other’s homes until the first church building was constructed in 1850. That building burned down during the Civil War and subsequent buildings were erected in 1866, 1892, 1954, 1985, and 2009. Our chapel (Old Sanctuary) was built in 1952 over an 1892 basement which now serves as a community storm shelter. In 2009, the church added a completely new building that now houses the sanctuary, offices, and Fellowship Hall.
ESUMC retains a rich history of serving our neighbors. Each year at Thanksgiving and Christmas we provide over 300 holiday meals to nearby families. Our food pantry provides weekend snack packs to local school children. We regularly hold group meetings that address different topics like grief recovery and financial planning.
Regionally and worldwide, we provide recovery items for communities ravaged by disaster. Our youth provide mission support in nearby distressed neighborhoods. Our Quilters and Sew-ers have provided more than 6,000 clothing items for children in need. New ministries are created continually in response to our mission to REACH, TEACH, SHARE, and CARE for our neighbors in this community, the region, and the world.